什么是实体关系图(ERD)?

数据库是软件系统中不可或缺的一个组成部分,若能在数据库工程中好好利用 ER 图,便能让您生成高质量的数据库设计,用于数据库创建,管理和维护,也为人员间的交流提供了具意义的基础。

实体关系图(ERD)

今天,我们将为你深入介绍 ER 图表。通过阅读本ERD指南,您将获得有关 ER 图和数据库设计的基本知识和技能。你会学到什么是 ERD,为什么要绘制 ERD,ERD 符号,如何绘制 ERD 等,以及一堆 ERD 示例。

什么是实体关系图(ERD)?

首先,什么是实体关系图?

实体关系图也被称为 ERD、ER 图、实体联系模型、实体联系模式图或 ER 模型,是一种用于数据库设计的结构图。一幅 ERD 包含不同的符号和连接符,用于显示两个重要的資訊: 系统范围内的主要实体,以及这些实体之间的相互关系

这也就是为什么它被称为“实体”“关系”图 (ERD)啊!

当我们谈论 ERD 中的实体时,我们经常提到诸如人员/角色(例如学生),有形商业对象(例如产品),无形商业对象(例如日志)等业务对象。“关系”則是这些实体在系统内的相互关联。

实体关系图表达了对象间的关系

在典型的 ER 设计中,可以找到诸如圆角矩形和 (Rounded rectangle) 连接符(具有不同样式的末端)的符号来描述实体,它们的属性和相互关系。

何时绘制ER图?

那么,我们该在什么时候绘制ER图呢?虽然ER模型大多是为展示概念和设计物理数据库而绘制的,但也有别的用途的,以下是一些典型的用例。

  • 数据库设计 - 直接在数据库更改数据库结构会有风险, 为避免破坏数据库中的数据,我们得仔细规划一切变更。通过绘制 ER 图来展示数据库设计意念,您能轻松找出错误和识别设计缺陷,并在执行数据库更改之前作出修正。
  • 数据库调试 - 调试数据库问题往往具挑战性,特别是当数据库包含许多表时,你我编写复杂的SQL来获取所需的信息。通过 ERD 来展示数据库结构,您可以全面地了解整个数据库的结构。您可以轻松找到实体,查看其属性并确定与别的实体的关系,有助您更轻松地找出数据库的问题。
  • 数据库创建和修补 - 像 Visual Paradigm 这样的 ERD 软件支持数据库生成工具,可以通过ER图来自动生成和修补数据库。使用这个 ER 图工具,您的ER设计不再仅仅是一个静态图,而是一个真实反映物理数据库结构的镜像。
  • 帮助收集需求 - 您可以通过绘制 ERD 来表达系统中的高级业务对象以用于确定系统的需求。这种初始模型也可以演化为物理数据库模型,用于创建关系数据库,或为创建流程图和数据流模型提供有力的参考。

ERD 符号指南

ER 图包含实体,属性和关系。在本节中,我们将详细介绍各 ERD 符号。

实体

ERD 实体是一个系统内可定义的事物或概念,如人/角色(例如学生),对象(例如发票),概念(例如简介)或事件(例如交易)(注:在 ERD 中,术语“实体”通常用来代替“表”,但它们是一样的)。在考慮实体时,嘗試把它们想成名词。在 ER 模型中,实体显示为圆角矩形,其名称位于上方,其属性列在实体形状的主体中。下面的 ERD 示例显示了 ER 实体的一个用例。

实体(实体关系图)

实体属性

也称为列 (Row),意思是持有它的实体的属性或特性

一个属性有一个描述属性的名称和一个描述属性种类的类型,例如代表字符串的 varchar,整数的 int。当为物理数据库开发绘制 ERD 时,得使用目标 RDBMS 支持的类型,以確保設計和物理数据库的一致性。

下面的 ER 图示例显示了一個包含属性的实体。

实体属性(实体关系图)

主键 (Primary Key)

主键又称 PK,是一种特殊的实体属性,用于界定数据库表中的记录的独特性。一个表不能有两笔(或更多)拥有相同的主键属性值的记录,像是身份证明内的 ID 便是典型的例子,两个人即使性名相同,ID 是不会一样,若身份证明是个表,那ID 便是主键了。下面的 ERD 示例显示了拥有主键属性 “ID” 的实体 “Product”,以及数据库中表记录的预览。第三个记录是无效的,因为 ID 'PDT-0002' 的值已被另一个记录使用。

主键(实体关系图)

外键 (Foreign Key)

外键又称外来键和外部键,是对主键的引用,用于识别实体之间的关系。请注意,有别于主键,外键不必是唯一的,多个记录可以共享相同的值。下面的 ER Diagram 示例显示了一个包含一些列的实体,其中一个外键用于引用另一个实体。

外键(实体关系图)

关系

两个实体之间的关系表示这两个实体以某种方式相互关联。例如,学生可能参加课程。实体“学生”因此与“课程”相关,而这关系则在 ER 图中以连接线表达着。

基数 (Cardinality)

基数定义了一个实与另一个实体的关系里面,某方可能出现次数。例如,一个团队有许多球员,若把这关系呈现于 ERD 时,团队和球员之间是一对多的关系。

在 ER 图中,基数表示为连接线端的乌鸦脚。三种常见的主要关系是一对一,一对多和多对多。

一对一的基数的例子

一对一关系主要用于将实体分成两部分,简洁地将资讯呈现,使读者更容易理解。下图显示了一对一关系的示例。

一对一的基数的例子
一对多的基数的例子

一对多关系是指两个实体 X 和 Y 之间的关系,其中 X 的一个实例可以链接到Y的许多实例,而 Y 的一个实例仅链接到 X 的一个实例。下图显示了一对多关系的一个例子。

一对多的基数的例子
多对多的基数的例子

多对多关系是指两个实体 X 和 Y 之间的关系,其中 X 可以被链接到 Y 的许多实例,反之亦然。下图显示了一个多对多关系的例子。请注意,多对多关系在物理 ERD 中被分成一对一对多的关系,你会在下一节中學到什麼是物理 ERD。

多对多的基数的例子

概念,逻辑和物理数据模型

ER 模型通常被绘制成最多三个抽象层次上:

虽然 ER 模型的三个层次都包含有属性和关系的实体,但它们的创建目的和目标受众都不同。

一般而言,业务分析人员使用概念和逻辑模型来展示系统中存在的业务对象 (Business Object),而数据库设计人员或数据库工程师會為概念和逻辑ER模型加入更详细的資訊,進而生成反映物理模型结构的物理数据模型,好為创建数据库作準備。下表列出了三种数据模型之间的差异。

概念模型 vs 逻辑模型 vs 数据模型:

ERD功能 概念 逻辑 物理
实体(名称)
关系
列的类型 随意
主键
外键

概念数据模型

概念性 ERD 表达了系统中该存在的业务对象以及它们之间的关系。建立概念模型,是为了通过识别所涉及的业务对象来呈现系统的宏观图像。概念数据模型定义了哪些实体存在,而非哪些表。例如,逻辑或物理数据模型中可能存在“多对多”表,但在概念数据模型下,它们只会表示为无基数的关系。

概念数据模型示例

概念数据模型

注意:概念性 ERD 支持使用泛化 (Generalization) 来表达两个实体之间的“一种”关系,例如三角形是一种形状,这个用法就像UML中的泛化一样。请注意只有概念 ERD 支持泛化。

逻辑数据模型

逻辑 ERD 是概念 ERD 的详细版本,通过明确定义每个实体中的列并引入操作和事务实体 (Transactional Entities)来让概念模型丰富起来。虽然逻辑数据模型仍流于高层次的设计(非为特定数据库系统而绘画),但如果会影响数据库的设计,在绘制逻辑数据模型时仍然可酌情调整。

逻辑数据模型示例

逻辑数据模型

物理数据模型

物理 ERD 是数据库的实际设计蓝图。物理数据模型通过为每列指定类型 (Type),长度 (Length),可为空 (Nullable) 等来详细阐述逻辑数据模型。由于物理 ERD 表達了如何在特定的 DBMS中构造和关联数据,因此在設計時要考虑到实际的数据库系统的需要和局限,倒如确保 DBMS 支持某列类型,并在命名实体和列中避用某些保留字 (Reserved Words)。

物理数据模型示例

物理数据模型

如何绘制 ER 图?

如果您发现绘制 ER 图很难,请不要担心,在本节中我们将给你一些 ERD 提示。尝试按照以下步骤以了解如何有效地绘制 ER 图吧。

  1. 确保你清楚知道绘制 ERD 的目的。您是否试图呈现涉及业务对象定义的整体系统架构?或者你正在开发一个准备用于数据库创建的 ER 模型?您必须明了开发 ER 图的目的,方可使用合适的模型层次(概念/逻辑和物理)来迎合您所需 (请阅读概念,逻辑和物理数据模型部分了解更详细信息)
  2. 确保你清楚模型的范围。了解建模范围可以防止在设计中包含冗余实体和关系。
  3. 画出范围内的主要实体。
  4. 通过添加列来定义实体的属性。
  5. 仔细检查 ERD 并检查实体和列是否足以存储系统的数据。如果不是,请考虑添加其他实体和列。通常,您可以在此步骤中确定一些事务 (Transactional),操作 (Operational) 和事件 (Event) 实体。
  6. 考虑所有实体之间的关系,将它们联系起来,並寫上正確的基数(例如客户和订单之间的一对多关系)。如果有任何实体沒有被連接上,请不要担心,虽然這不常见,但它是合法的。
  7. 使用数据库规范化技术 (Database Normalization)重构实体,以减少冗余数据和提高数据完整性。例如,“制造商”的資訊可能最初存储在“产品”实体下,透過规范化过程,您可能会发“制造商”的记录不断重复,您便可将其拆分为单独的“制造商”实体,并使用外键將“产品”和“制造商”連接起來。

数据模型的例子

ERD 示例 - 电影租赁系统

ERD 示例 - 电影租赁系统

ERD 示例 - 贷款系统

ERD 示例 - 贷款系统

ERD 示例 - 在线商店

ERD 示例 - 在线商店

使用ERD和数据流图(DFD)

在系统分析和设计中,可以绘制数据流图(DFD) 来展现系统流程中的信息流。在数据流图中,有一个名为数据储存 (Data Store)的符号,它代表一个提供系统所需信息的数据库表。

使用 ERD 和数据流图(DFD)

由于物理 ER 图提供了实际数据库的蓝图,因此这种 ERD 中的实体与 DFD 中的数据存储一致。您可以 ERD 作为 DFD 的补充,以表达信息的结构;或以 DFD 补充 ERD,以显示系统在运行时如何运用数据。

ER 图数据储存模型

使用ERD和BPMN业务流程图(BPD)

在业务流程映射中 (Business Process Mapping),可以绘制 BPMN 业务流程图 (BPD) 以展示业务工作流程。在业务流程图中,有一个称为数据对象(Data Object)的符号,表示在流程输入/输出的数据。

使用 ERD 和 BPMN 业务流程图(BPD

由于概念和逻辑数据模型提供了系统内业务对象的高级视图,因此此类 ERD 中的实体与 BPD 中的数据对象一致。您可绘制 ERD 作为 BPD 的补充,以表示业务工作流程所需的数据对象的结构;或以 BPD 補充 ERD,以显示在整个业务流程中如何運用数据。

BPMN 数据对象(以 ER 图表达)

选择一个ERD工具

制作 ERD 数据模型需要时间和精力,而一个有用的数据库设计工具则能大大减省你花费的时间和精力。 Visual Paradigm 不仅为您提供 ERD 工具,还提供了一组可视化建模功能,助您更快、更轻松地绘制实体关系图。它支持当今市场上最流行的数据库管理系统,是数据库设计、数据库生成和实体关系图逆转的好帮手。

支持广泛的 DBMS

Visual Paradigm Modeler 支持 ERD 设计工具,月费仅为6 美元!我们建议你下载并尝试一下,你将获得 30 天免费试用。

Turn every software project into a successful one.

Visual Paradigm logo

What is Entity Relationship Diagram (ERD)?

Database is absolutely an integral part of software system. To fully utilize ER Diagram in database engineering guarantee you to produce high quality database design to use in database creation, management and maintenance. An ER model also provides a means for communication.

Entity Relationship Diagram (ERD)

Today we're going to walk you through everything you need to know about ER Diagramming. By reading this ERD guide, you will get the essential knowledge and skills about ER Diagrams and database design. You will learn things like what is ERD, why ERD, ERD notations, how to draw ERD, etc. along with a bunch of ERD examples.

What is an ER diagram (ERD)?

First of all, what is an Entity Relationship Diagram?

Entity Relationship Diagram, also known as ERD, ER Diagram or ER model, is a type of structural diagram for use in database design. An ERD contains different symbols and connectors that visualize two important information: The major entities within the system scope, and the inter-relationships among these entities.

And that's why it's called "Entity" "Relationship" diagram (ERD)!

When we talk about entities in ERD, very often we are referring to business objects such as people/role (e.g. Student), tangible business objects (e.g. Product), intangible business objects (e.g. Log), etc. "Relationship" is about how these entities relate to each other within the system.

ER Diagram depicts business entities relationship

In a typical ER design, you can find symbols such as rounded rectangles and connectors (with different styles of their ends) that depict the entities, their attributes and inter-relationships.

When to draw ER Diagrams?

So, when do we draw ERDs? While ER models are mostly developed for designing relational database in terms of concept visualization and in terms of physical database design, there are still other situations when ER diagrams can help. Here are some typical use cases.

  • Database design - Depending on the scale of change, it can be risky to alter a database structure directly in a DBMS. To avoid ruining the data in a production database, it is important to plan out the changes carefully. ERD is a tool that helps. By drawing ER diagrams to visualize database design ideas, you have a chance to identify the mistakes and design flaws, and to make correction before executing the changes in database.
  • Database debugging - To debug database issues can be challenging, especially when the database contains many tables, which require writing complex SQL in getting the information you need. By visualizing a database schema with an ERD, you have a full picture of the entire database schema. You can easily locate entities, view their attributes and to identify the relationships they have with others. All these allows you to analyze an existing database and to reveal database problem easier.
  • Database creation and patching - ERD tool like Visual Paradigm supports database generation tool that can automate the database creation and patching process by means of ER diagrams. So, with this ER Diagram tool your ER design is no longer just a static diagram but a mirror that reflects truly the physical database structure.
  • Aid in requirements gathering - Determine the requirements of an information system by drawing a conceptual ERD that depicts the high-level business objects of the system. Such an initial model can also be evolved into physical database model that aids the creation of relational database, or aids in the creation of process map and data flow model.

ERD notations guide

An ER Diagram contains entities, attributes and relationships. In this section we will go through the ERD symbols in detail.

Entity

An ERD entity is a definable thing or concept within a system, such as a person/role (e.g. Student), object (e.g. Invoice), concept (e.g. Profile) or event (e.g. Transaction) (note: In ERD, the term "entity" is often used instead of "table", but they are the same). When determining entities, think of them as nouns. In ER models, an entity is shown as a rounded rectangle, with its name on top and its attributes listed in the body of the entity shape. The ERD example below shows an example of ER entity.

Entity

Entity Attributes

Also known as column, an attribute is a property or characteristic of the entity that holds it.

An attribute has a name that describes the property and a type that describes the kind of attribute it is, such as varchar for a string, and int for integer. When an ERD is drawn for physical database development, it is important to ensure the use of types that are supported by the target RDBMS.

The ER diagram example below shows an entity with some attributes in it.

Entity Attributes

Primary Key

Also known as PK, a primary key is a special kind of entity attribute that uniquely defines a record in a database table. In other words, there must not be two (or more) records that share the same value for the primary key attribute. The ERD example below shows an entity 'Product' with a primary key attribute '�ID', and a preview of table records in database. The third record is invalid because the value of ID '�PDT-0002' is already used by another record.

Primary Key

Foreign Key

Also known as FK, a foreign key is a reference to a primary key in table. It is used to identify the relationships between entities. Note that foreign keys need not to be unique. Multiple records can share the same values. The ER Diagram example below shows an entity with some columns, among which a foreign key is used in referencing another entity.

Foreign Key

Relationship

A relationship between two entities signifies that the two entities are associated with each other somehow. For example, student might enroll into a course. The entity Student is therefore related with Course, and the relationships is presented as a connector connecting between them.

Cardinality

Cardinality defines the possible number of occurrence in one entity which are associated to the number of occurrences in another. For example, ONE team has MANY players. When present in an ERD, the entities Team and Player are inter-connected with a one-to-many relationship.

In an ER diagram, cardinality is represented as a crow's foot at the connector's ends. The three common cardinal relationships are one-to-one, one-to-many, and many-to-many.

One-to-One cardinality example

A one-to-one relationship is mostly used to split an entity in two to provide information concisely and make it more understandable. The figure below shows an example of one-to-one relationship.

One-to-One cardinality example
One-to-Many cardinality example

A one-to-many relationship refers to the relationship between two entities X and Y in which an instance of X may be linked to many instances of Y, but an instance of Y is linked to only one instance of X. The figure below shows an example of one-to-many relationship.

One-to-Many cardinality example
Many-to-Many cardinality example

A many-to-many relationship refers to the relationship between two entities X and Y in which X may be linked to many instances of Y and vice versa. The figure below shows an example of many-to-many relationship. Note that a many-to-many relationship is split into a pair of one-to-many relationships in a physical ERD. You will know what a physical ERD is in the next section.

Many-to-Many cardinality example

Conceptual, Logical and Physical data models

An ER model is typically drawn at up to three levels of abstraction:

While all the three levels of ER model contain entities with attributes and relationships, they differ in the purposes they are created for and the audiences they are meant to target.

A general understanding to the three data models is that business analyst uses conceptual and logical model to model the business objects exist in the system, while database designer or database engineer elaborates the conceptual and logical ER model to produce the physical model that presents the physical database structure ready for database creation. The table below shows the difference between the three data models.

Conceptual model vs Logical model vs Data model:

ERD features Conceptual Logical Physical
Entity (Name) Yes Yes Yes
Relationship Yes Yes Yes
Columns Yes Yes
Column's Types Optional Yes
Primary Key Yes
Foreign Key Yes

Conceptual data model

Conceptual ERD models the business objects that should exist in a system and the relationships between them. Conceptual model is developed to present an overall picture of the system by recognizing the business objects involved. It defines what entities exist, NOT which tables. For example, 'many to many' tables may exist in logical or physical data model but they are just shown as a relationship with no cardinality under the conceptual data model.

Conceptual data model example

Conceptual data model

NOTE: Conceptual ERD supports the use of generalization in modeling the 'a kind of' relationship between two entities, for instance, Triangle, is a kind of Shape. The usage is like generalization in UML. Notice that only conceptual ERD supports generalization.

Logical data model

Logical ERD is a detailed version of a Conceptual ERD. A logical ER model is developed to enrich a conceptual model by defining explicitly the columns in each entity and introducing operational and transactional entities. Although a logical data model is still independent of the actual database system in which the database will be created, you can still take that into consideration if it affects the design.

Logical data model example

Logical data model

Physical data model

Physical ERD represents the actual design blueprint of a relational database. A physical data model elaborates on the logical data model by assigning each column with type, length, nullable, etc. Since a physical ERD represents how data should be structured and related in a specific DBMS it is important to consider the convention and restriction of the actual database system in which the database will be created. Make sure the column types are supported by the DBMS and reserved words are not used in naming entities and columns.

Physical data model example

Physical data model

How to draw an ER diagram?

If you find it difficult to get started with drawing an ER diagram, don't worry. In this section we will give you some ERD tips. Try to follow the steps below to understand how to draw an ER diagram effectively.

  1. Make sure you are clear about the purpose of drawing the ERD. Are you trying to present an overall system architecture which involves the definition of business objects? Or are you developing an ER model ready for database creation? You must be clear about the purpose to develop an ER diagram at right level of detail (Read the section Conceptual, Logical and Physical Data Models for more details)
  2. Make sure you are clear about the scope to model. Knowing the modeling scope prevents you from including redundant entities and relationships in your design.
  3. Draw the major entities involved in the scope.
  4. Define the properties of entities by adding columns.
  5. Review the ERD carefully and check if the entities and columns are enough to store the data of the system. If not, consider adding additional entities and columns. Usually, you can identify some transactional, operational and event entities in this step.
  6. Consider the relationships between all entities and relate them with proper cardinality (e.g A one-to-many between entity Customer and Order). Don't worry if there are orphan entities. Although it's not common, it's legit.
  7. Apply the technique of database normalization to re-structure the entities in a way that can reduce data redundancy and improve data integrity. For example, the details of manufacturer might be stored under the Product entity initially. During the process of normalization, you may find that the detail keeps repeating record over record, then you can split it as a separate entity Manufacturer, and with a foreign key that links between Product and Manufacturer.

Data model examples

ERD example - Movie Rental System

ERD example - Movie Rental System

ERD example - Loan System

ERD example - Loan System

ERD example - Online Shop

ERD example - Online Shop

Using ERD with Data Flow Diagram (DFD)

In system analysis and design, Data Flow Diagram (DFD) can be drawn to visualize the flow of information within system processes. In a Data Flow Diagram, there is a symbol called Data Store, which represents a database table that provides the information needed by the system.

ERD with Data Flow Diagram

Since a physical ER Diagram provides a blueprint of an actual database, the entities in such an ERD are aligned with datastores in a DFD. You can draw ERD as a complement to DFD by representing the structure of information that flow within a system, or, on the contrary, to draw DFD in complementing an ERD by showing how the data will be utilized by the system in runtime.

ERD Data store model

Using ERD with BPMN Business Process Diagram (BPD)

In business process mapping, BPMN Business Process Diagram (BPD) can be drawn to visualize business workflow. In a Business Process Diagram, there is a symbol called Data Object, which represents the data input into / output from process activities.

ERD with BPMN Business Process Diagram (BPD)

Since a conceptual and logical data model provides a high-level view of business objects within a system, the entities in such ERDs are aligned with data objects BPD. You can draw ERD as a complement to BPD by representing the structure of data objects needed by a business workflow, or, on the contrary, to draw BPD in complementing an ERD by showing how the data will be utilized throughout a business process.

BPMN data object modeled by ERD

Choosing an ERD tool

It takes time and effort to develop a data model with ERD. A helpful database design tool should be able to reduce your time and effort spent. Visual Paradigm provides you with not only an ERD tool but also a set of visual modeling features that helps you draw faster and easier. It supports most of the popular relational database management systems in the market today both in terms of database design, database generation and ERD reversal.

Wide range of DBMS supported

The ERD designer is available in Visual Paradigm Modeler, which costs only US $6 per month. We would recommend you download and have a try. 30 days FREE evaluation is offered. No credit card required.

Turn every software project into a successful one.